walked with a ghost and you’re now here.


dbd266b97b2dcb9e513a58a599d81209

I remembered curling into your voice
what rolled out your tongue and grew in sync with my thoughts
I let them swim over me and slumbered on

It was when
I was building a box, one that could crumble when she moved a finger
I was folding cranes, ones that I blew whispers in even knowing it would weigh them down
I was blowing bubbles, huffing and puffing like she was the three little pigs
And even though till now I still have not got my hands around

It was when
I was painting my eyes with white and brown, till they were like my puddles reflecting mine
I was digging a time capsule into her, till I fell into the rabbit hole
Down down I went,
till she dropped the clock and all minutes and seconds pasted were not time

You came along and knitted a strings of comfort
Passed down sunshine and warmth of a foreign heart
Though for some time, but like the red queen’s cards
i was lifted, like upon a dragon and inside I fluttered like the mad hater’s dance
You handed me the mirror
then whispered to my ears
then show me that the one inside was not me

but here I stand now
all thanks to the warmth that rolled out your tongue once upon a time

 

 

artwork

inspired by Tegan & Sara.

Leave a comment